Technical Programme

Day 1 - Monday, 3 February 2020

Time Agenda
10:00 – 18:00 Registration
12:00 – 18:00 Exhibit Setup

Day 2 - Tuesday, 4 February 2020

Time Agenda
08:00 – 17:00 Registration
09:00 – 09:10

Welcoming Remarks from Dato’ Dr. Zulkifli Mohamed Hashim

(Chairman of Local Organizing Committee)

09:10 – 09:30 Opening Speech by Prime Minister of Malaysia
09:30 – 10:00 Refreshment break & Press Conference
10:00 – 10:45

Theme Speech by Mr. Yukiya Amano

(Director General, IAEA)

10:45 – 13:00 Plenary Session 1
10:45 – 11:30

PLN 1-1: Dr. Jean-Pierre Fleurial (NASA Jet Propulsion Lab/CalTech, USA)

“NASA’s Research in Radioisotopes Power Systems”

11:30 – 12:15

PLN 1-2: Dr. Hiroshi Kato (Institute of Radiation Breeding, Japan)

“Application of Radioisotopes and Radiation Technology in Agriculture”

12:15 – 13:00

PLN1-3: Mr. Sinichi Kitaoka (International Cooperation Agency, JICA, Japan)

“Economic Viability of Radioisotope Production and Sustainability”

13:00 – 14:00 Lunch Break
14:00 – 17:00 Parallel Session 1

Session A1: Medicine

Application of Isotopes in Therapeutic Nuclear Medicine)


Session B1: Industry

Application of Nuclear Techniques to National Security and Treaty Monitoring

Session C1: Environment

Reference Materials for Nuclear Mass Spectrometry/



Session D1: Agriculture

Radioisotopes and Radiation Technology in Agriculture

14:00 – 14:25 A1-1: Dr. Amir R. Jalilian (IAEA, Austria) B1-1: Ms. Gan Pek Yen (AELB, Malaysia) C1-1: Dr. Kye Hong Lee (KAERI, Korea) D1-1: Prof. Dr. Mohd Raffi Yusop (UPM, Malaysia)
14:25 – 14:50 A1-2: Dr. Gerard Lim (National Cancer Institute, Malaysia)

B1-2: Mr. Syahril (IAEA)

“Self-Reliance and Mainstreaming of National Nuclear Institute: A Global Perspective”

C1-2: Dr. Masanori Kaminaga (JAEA, Japan) D1-2: Dr. Johan Van Huylenbroeck (Institute for Agricultural and Fisheries Research Caritasstraat, Belgium)
14:50 – 15:15 A1-3: Dr. Lee Boon Nang (National Cancer Institute, Malaysia) B1-3 C1-3: Dr. Takashi Yamashita (Japan Radioisotope Association, Japan) D1-3: Prof. Russell Frew/Dr Sam Lind (Oritain New Zealand Commercial Food Traceability Company, New Zealand)
15:15 – 15:40

A1-4: Dr. Nigel Stevenson


B1-4 C1-4: Mr. Michael Druce (ANSTO, Australia) D1-4: Mr. Minh Quynh Tran (Vietnam Atomic Energy Institute, VINATOM, Vietnam)
15:40 – 16:05 A1-5:  Assoc. Prof. Michael Hofman (Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Australia) B1-5 C1-5: Mr. Yusi Eko Yulianto (BATAN, Indonesia) D1-5: Mr. Mohammad Nurcholis (UPN Veteran University, Indonesia)
16:05 – 16:30 A1-6: Dr. Zool Helmi (National Cancer Institute, Malaysia) B1-6 C1-6: Ms. Yelena Chakrova (National Nuclear Centre of Republic of Kazakhstan, Republic of Kazakhstan)

D1-6: Mr. Shyful Azizi Abd Rahman (Malaysian Nuclear Agency, Malaysia)

“Soil and Water Management”

16:30 – 16:55 A1-7: Dr. Mohamad Haidar (American Beirut of University) B1-7 C1-7 D1-7
16:55 – 17:30 Refreshment break

Day 3 - Wednesday, 5 February 2020

Time Agenda
08:00 – 17:00 Registration
08:30 – 10:00 Plenary Session 2
08:30 – 09:15 PLN 2-1: Prof. Mohamad Al Sheikhly (University of Maryland, USA)
09:15 – 10:00 PLN 2-2: Prof. Dr. Akira Matsumura (University of Tsukuba, Japan)
10:00 – 10:45 PLN 2-3: “Quality Assurance in Radioanalytical and Radiopharmaceutical Chemistry”
10:45 – 11:15 Refreshment Break
11:00 – 13:00 Poster Presentation Session
13:00 – 14: 00 Lunch Break and Poster Viewing
14:00 – 17:00 Parallel Session 2

Session A2: Medicine

Application in Nuclear Medicine

Session B2: Industry

Isotope Devices, Isotope Tracers and Other Applications

Session C2: Environment

Environmental Fate and Identification of Radionuclides

Session D2: Industry

Application of Research and Industrial Isotopes

14:00 – 14:25 A2-1: Dato’ Dr. Mohamed Ali Abdul Kader (Mount Miriam Cancer Hospital, Malaysia) B2-1:  (JRIA) C2-1: Dr. Pete Bode (Delft University of Technology, Netherlands) D2-1: (QSA Global Inc.)
14:25 – 14:50 A2-2: Dr. Ng. Chen Siew (Hospital Sultanah Aminah, Malaysia) B2-2: Prof. Dr. Olgun Guvene (Hacettepe University, Turkey) C2-2: Mr. John Preston (International Centre for Environmental and Nuclear Sciences, Jamaica) D2-2:
14:50 – 15:15 A2-3: Dr. Byung II Kim (KIRAMS, Korea) B2-3: C2-3: D2-3:
15:15 – 15:40 A2-4: Prof. Dato’ Dr. Abdul Jalil Nordin (UPM, Malaysia) B2-4: C2-4: D2-4:
15:40 – 16:05 A2-5: Prof. Emeritus Dr. Leonard Wiebe (U. of Alberta, Canada) B2-5: C2-5: D2-5:
16:05 – 16:30 A2-6: (Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Australia) B2-6: C2-6: D2-6:
16:30 – 16:55 A2-7: Dr. Zaitul Husna (Ministry of Health, Malaysia) B2-7: C2-7: D2-7:
16:55 – 17:30 Refreshment break

Day 4 - Thursday, 6 February 2020

Time Agenda
08:00 – 17:00 Registration
08:30 – 10.00 Plenary Session 3
08:30 – 09:15 PLN 3-1: (Nuclear Forensics)
09:15 – 10:00 PLN 3-2: (Nuclear Safety and Security)
10:00 – 10:45 PLN 3-3: (Radiation Technology in Tracer Industry)
10:45 – 11:15 Refreshment Break
11:00 – 13:00 WCI President’s Forum
13:00 – 14: 00 Lunch Break and Poster Viewing
14:00 – 17:00 Parallel Session 3

Session A3: Medicine

Radioisotopes in Molecular Imaging and Personalized Medicine

Session B3:


Production of PET Radionuclides

Session C3: Medicine

Reactor Production of Medical Isotopes

Session D3: Industry

Production and Application of Stable Isotopes

14:00 – 14:25 A3-1: Prof. Jun Hatazawa (Osaka University, Japan) B3-1: Dr. Ibrahim Jammaz (King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Centre, Saudi Arabia) C3-1: Dr. Ir. Yudi Utomo Imardjoko (Pt Industri Nuklir, Indonesia) D3-1: Dr. Joseph Adu-Gyamfi (IAEA, Austria)
14:25 – 14:50

A3-2: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Fathinul Fikri Ahmad Saad (UPM, Malaysia)

“Molecular Imaging Techniques in Breast Cancer”

B3-2: Dr. Alexander Zyuzin (Advanced Cyclotron Systems, Inc., Canada) C3-2: D: Dr. Xingmin Liu (China Institute of Atomic Energy, CIAE, China) D3-2: Dr. Lee Heng (IAEA, Austria)
14:50 – 15:15

A3-3: Dr. Mohd Hanafi Ahmad Damanhuri (UKM, Malaysia)

“Application of Radioisotopes in Neuroscience Research”

B3-3: Dr. Ramli Zainal (National Pharmaceutical Regulatory Agency, NPRA, Malaysia)

“Regulation of PET Radiopharmaceuticals Production: The Malaysian Perspective”

C3-3: Mr. Duong Van Dong (Vietnam Atomic Energy Institute, VINATOM, Vietnam) D3-3: Dr. Long Nguyen (Group One Consultancy Ltd, New Zealand)
15:15 – 15:40

A3-4: Prof. Dr. Rodney Hicks (Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Australia)

“Molecular Imaging of Diseases using PET-MRI”

B3-4: Assoc. Prof. Dr Peter Eu (Australia) C3-4: Mr. Chanatip Tippayakul (Thailand Institute of Nuclear Technology, TINT, Thailand) D3-4: Dr. Meera Ventakesh (Radiopharmaceutical)
15:40 – 16:05 A3-5: Dr. Lingeswaran Kasilingam (Beacon Hospital, Malaysia) B3-5: (National Centre for Nuclear Research, POLATOM Radioisotope Centre, Poland) C3-5: Dr. Md Azizul Haque (Bangladesh Atomic Energy Commission, BAEC, Bangladesh) D3-5: Dr. Ramesh Ramamoorthy (Radiopharmaceutical)
16:05 – 16:30 A3-6: Dr. Ming-Rong Zhang (National Institute of Radiological Sciences, Japan) B3-6: Mr. Alvin Quah (BioMolecular Industries Sdn Bhd, Malaysia) C3-6: Mr. Ui Jae Park (KAERI, Korea) D3-6:
16:30 – 16:55 A3-7: Dr. Siti Najila B3-7: (KIRAMS) C3-7: Ms. Maria Teresa A. Salabit (Philippine Nuclear Research Institute, PNRI, Philippine) D3-7
16:55 – 17:30 Refreshment break
19:30 – 22:00 Gala Dinner

Day 5 - Friday, 7 February 2020

Time Agenda
08:30 – 10:00

Forum on “Harnessing Isotopes for Improved Quality of Life

Chairman:  Dato’ Dr. Zulkifli Mohamed Hashim

Panel 1: Prof. Datuk Dr. Sukiman Sarmani, Malaysia

Panel 2: Prof. Payne, Australia

Panel 3: Dr. Abel Gonzalez

Panel 4: Dr. Nigel Stevenson

10:00 – 10:30 Refreshment Break
10:30 – 11:30 Closing Planetary: Isotopes for Sustainable Future
11:30 – 12:00 Closing Speech: Representative of MyCEB
11:30 – 12: 00 Lunch Break and Friday Prayer
14:30 – 17:30 Technical Visit
17:30 End of Conference